Road Bike Rider: SCOTT’S SPIN

Body Talk

I got a message the other day from an old friend who’s kind of a pain:

“Hey, Scott, guess who? Long time no hear from. I see you’ve been out having fun, riding your bike lots, getting in decent shape. Well, bully for you. But you’ve been neglecting me, and I’m going to make you pay unless you start treating me with the respect I deserve.

“Still don’t remember me? Let me take a stab at reminding you. You felt that, didn’t you, Mr. Increased Workload? Yup, it’s me — your right iliotibial band, that fibrous tissue that runs down the outside of your leg.

“You should know by now that I get very irritated when you start riding too far, too fast, too soon. That little ache in your right knee is just my way of saying, ‘Yoo-hoo!’

“Look, I don’t want to cause you any pain, even though you’ve hurt me deep in the fiber of my being. We can be friends again, but you need to show you care.

“For starters, would it kill you to get me something decent to wear on chilly rides? And when we get home, how about a little ice? Yes, I know these sound contradictory, but we IT bands are complicated creatures. Deal with it.

“And where’s that foam roller you used to massage me with? I saw you using it on your back last week. Listen, buster, your back just lies there like a freeloading hussy. Your knee is what makes the wheels go ’round.

“That’s not too much to ask, is it? ‘Cause if it is you’ll be hearing from me again, real soon.”

(If you enjoy reading Scott Martin, the eBook Spin Again contains 181 of his witty, sometimes wacky, and occasionally heart-felt observations on road cycling. Click here to enjoy 3 classic Spins again and place your order for instant delivery by download.)

Republished by permission of Road Bike Rider.

This entry was posted in Body Talk, Road Bike Rider. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Road Bike Rider: SCOTT’S SPIN

  1. Is the bike club doing the 250 challenge over the July 4th holiday?

  2. Kristine says:

    Perfect timing for this article. Both of my knees are aching from riding too much too soon for the past two weekends. Thanks for the witty reminder.

Leave a Reply

